Cognitive Champagne (Thought Bubbles): Impressionism and Bouguereau

Kel-logs

Another glimpse into the mind of Morgen B…

I stumbled onto the artwork of William Adolphe Bouguereau this afternoon and was struck by a thing or two. First- I really dig his style. I also think my sister looked like a lot like a Bouguereau painting when she was little, but maybe only for the brooding expression and beautiful hands.

Little Girl, William Adolphe Bouguereau Little Girl, William Adolphe Bouguereau

After finishing the Honors 200 Humanities sequence last semester and very briefly studying impressionistic art, I had a thought that Kelly enjoyed. I believe the way I phrased it was, “I wish my life was an impressionist painting”.

And what I think I meant at the time was that I wish my life had that vibrant, rosy glow of Renoir’s Luncheon of the Boating Party or The Seine at Asnières. There is something about the detail of each little stroke in impressionism that makes…

View original post 280 more words

Leave a Reply

