Update

Hello!

So really quick life update: I’m officially done with the Fall semester of junior year (!!!). So this means I’m home for break until I leave for Spain on January 23rd!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not sure where I’ll be in January, but that’s another story. Basically, besides getting things squared away for Spain, I have a lot of extra time on my hands. And let me tell ya, I am ย l o v i n g ย it.

I’ve recently realized (through the tough love of some friends and my own verbal processing) that I speed through life at a breakneck speed, and I am truly missing life along the way. There are a lot more things that could be said about that, but I’ll leave it there. However this means the next six months to a year are going to be an attempt at slowing down. Putting less on my plate. Stopping to smell the roses, if you will. Operation Slow Down? I don’t know. If I reference this development at any time in future blogs, you’ll understand. I’ll be in Spain, afterall, so maybe it won’t be so hard to slow down. With those siestas?? ย It’ll be coming back to the States that will be difficult. Will I learn this time? We shall find out…

Also, because of some recently implemented State of Indiana laws, I cannot finish my double major. It’s confusing, and I had thought they wouldn’t affect me… but basically I can’t afford to go for 5 years (these laws are reeeeally pushing graduating in 4), and so I’ll be dropping down to the minor in Theatre. After the initial disappointment of deciding this, then coming to terms with not really needing the major, I have gotten really excited! Graduating on time! With my friends! Getting out into the real world! But simultaneously my trust in God about my future has had to go to a new level. Suddenly the end of college is near, and what does that mean? I try to look past my life at Ball State and the future is all white and blank and empty. A canvas to be painted. This is exciting, and nervewracking. After all, the hardest part of any project or new development is staring at the blank page.

So that’s happening.

On another note, the next several blogs I write will be the Daily Prompts from the WordPress Daily Post blog. I’ve been getting them to my email for a month or so, but I never have time to take part in them! Since I no longer have playwriting assignments, I need to keep working on writing and this seems like a good way to do so. ย Also I’m aware I’m not the best at understanding the blogosphere/don’t have time to build a reputable blog and thus don’t have many followers, but I don’t really mind as long as I can use this as a space to practice my writing! Read if you want, or don’t! This site will turn into a travel blog pretty soon anyways. So I’m sure my friends and family will be dropping in more often come January… but until then maybe I’ll be writing just for myself, which is fine ๐Ÿ™‚

First Daily Prompt post coming soon !

J

Leave a Reply

