Victims of Falling Walls

Scenes and Monologues: a collection of potential situations.

Conversations/circumstances that always seem to be on the verge of happening

Random musings that work as a monologue

Sophomore year of college 

 

 

3) Victims of Falling Walls

 

2am. Man and woman sit across a kitchen table from each other. 

Woman:

What do you think would happen if we all just stopped holding things in? We all just said how we felt and got it off our chests, whether it was a good or bad emotion, regardless of how people would react? Immediately that sounds like a good thing but I’m thinking about it right now and I think it would be a pretty bad thing. Like, if I just let my walls down completely to someone every time I felt really messed up inside, I would seem needy and the person listening would think I was needy. But that’s the thing… does that just make me a needy.. faker? I don’t tell someone I’m feeling down but I really do need to, so I’m still needy just without it showing.

Right?

Plus, I feel messed up inside a lot of the time. So if people could really see that, they would think that I was a sad person. Maybe I am a sad person. Not that this is all about what people think, but people thinking those things would definitely be a direct result of never holding anything in. Also, I think if we all were so open everyone would get annoyed with each other. Like, “STOP, for the love of God, stop talking about that guy! He dumped you, it’s done, so get over it!”

You know those people… who talk about a certain problem with a certain person until it drives you NUTS? It’s only because the emotion that they need to talk out is so strong and lasts forever. It’s also socially acceptable to talk constantly about boy problems and hurts. But if I went around talking to my casual girl friends about how my heart is heavy a lot but I’m not sure why and I think it’s because I live alone and don’t have any community and right now I’m not excelling at any of my passions and that makes me feel empty because I don’t understand how to feel complete in Christ and blahh blahh blahh woe is me… they would just be like, “Wow she’s focusing soo much on the negative!”

See, I’ve already said too much to you. You’re thinking the same thing. You’re also thinking about how there’s nothing you can do for me, so why am I telling you this? And, I guess I’m telling you this because… Well. I don’t know why I’m telling you this.

 

 

–> series intro

2 thoughts on “Victims of Falling Walls

  1. Simply honest. Finding the solutions to break out of a negative loop is not easy and sometimes our friends don’t know the answer either. However, there are people out in this wide world that get you and can provide answers 🙂

  2. Thanks for the follow!

    I guess, since I wrote all of the vignettes in this series amost exactly a year ago, I can agree that what you say is true! It is possible to move from a mindset of negativity. I would say my sophomore year of college was much more angsty/unstable than this one hahah 🙂 Since then I have found much more stability through my faith in the Bible and the reality of Jesus, which sounds cliche, but it’s something I suppose God has to teach you over time. At least, that has been my experience. Thanks for the comment! I really like your blogging project!

Leave a Reply

