Speak Your Heart

Scenes and Monologues: a collection of potential situations.

Conversations/circumstances that always seem to be on the verge of happening

Random musings that work as a monologue

Sophomore year of college 

 

2) Speak Your Heart

 

Her: So umm… what is this?

Him: What?

Her: What is this… what are we? We have been able to hang out a couple times since the summer and skype and text all the time but we’re just friends. We’re just friends, right? I mean I know we established that… but that was two months ago and things change. I just wanted to be sure.

Him: Well.

Her: Sorry, I probably shouldn’t have said anything. I don’t want to ruin our friendship. I just… Just pretend I didn’t say anything at all.

Him: Okay.

Her: (beat) But you know what I’m saying, right? A long distance friendship is hard to maintain but we’ve done it. I talk to you more than I do any of the girls from this summer. It’s just confusing.

Him: Why is that confusing?

Her: Because… you talk to me all the time but you don’t speak your mind. Your real mind. Or well, okay, you don’t speak your heart. All we ever do is talk about art and music. We have a lot in common but we never talk about real things. It’s almost like a fake friendship. (realizing she crossed the line a little bit) Sorry, I didn’t mean it like that. I mean that if we spend so much time talking but we’re never going to date… and we aren’t getting anything but shallow enjoyment from each other then why do we talk?

Him: I mean, I like talking to you. I don’t think it’s just shallow enjoyment.

Her: It’s not shallow for me either.

Him: So… what are you saying? What is this to you?

Her: What?

Him: What are we?

 

–> series intro

One thought on “Speak Your Heart

Leave a Reply

