Eric Whitacre

That name. Need I say more? As for right now, I submit that I do NOT.

 

Okay, I’ll say a little more.

Eric Whitacre. He’s one of those people I think God has blessed with an extra spark of creation. An extra little boost of genius. He’s a  master of chord voicing, THE master of cluster chords, and singing anything he composes is simply an amazing experience. I would say more and try to eloquently describe my affection for good ole Eric, but I just spent the last three hours finishing a “words and music” playwriting assignment, in which we had to write a poem and then a scene based on two different pieces of instrumental music. I’m pretty eloquent-ed out, and I’m not even happy with the finished product. It was one of those… I had a really good idea, then I couldn’t figure out how to convey it, so I wrestled with it right up until the deadline kind of things. Still needed more time.

#artistangst

#artistprobs

Anyway, the two pieces of music I chose were The Crisis by Ennio Morricone and Lux Aurumque by the lovely Eric Whitacre. I utilized a freedom in expression/dance analogy… let’s just not talk about it. Let’s talk about Eric Whitacre. I put the link to his virtual choir, and if you’ve never checked out his virtual choirs, then you should. Especially if you’ve ever been in a good choir, this is a cool thing to see.

Other Whitacre I’ve had the privelege to sing in the past with a good choir:

Water Night 

Sleep  – this is one of those trippy virtual choirs that he does.

Cloudburst 

Really, I am surprised how much I miss singing with a choir. There’s a unique sense of unity that you don’t get with many other experiences.

Also, can we just add that Eric’s good looks and easy going, witty sense of humor (perceived via FB and Twitter..) make him just an all-around awesome person? Plus he’s married to Hila Plittman, one of the greatest modern sopranos specializing in performance of new work. They just seem… cool. And interesting. They live in London.

 

Well, there’s my random stream-of-consciousness rant at 12:30am. I told myself I wouldn’t write those on this blog, but… oh well. Hopefully you’ve been encouraged in my spontaneity towards thoughtfully, artistically composed music (check out that Spark of Creation link too… don’t wanna miss that Natalie Weiss/Stephen Schwartz combo amid your Whitacre-induced-awe).

Until I have time to write a well formulated post based on my many stored-up blogging ideas,

Chao!

Leave a Reply

