“Why Do You Want to Study Abroad?”

I spent some time tonight writing an essay for my study abroad application (I want to go to Segovia, Spain this spring! I’m crazy excited).

Unfortunately, once I had saved it in a document, attached it to my app, and submitted it, I reviewed the requirements and saw… that it was supposed to be written in Spanish.

#fail

#superfail

So, I’m in the middle of sorting that out. But since I spent so much time making the essay all unconventional and interesting (I thought), I wanted to use it for something. This version will soon be twisted and reshaped into a polished and more professional-sounding 7,000 character scholarship application essay, but I’ll post the original version here. Now I won’t have to also write a blog post about why I’m going to Spain in the spring. Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

“Why do you want to study abroad?”

There are plenty of practical reasons for why I should study abroad. Thereโ€™s the fact that I would be able to finish my Spanish minor, become fluent in the language, and get credits for both of my majors. There are the understandably clichรฉ answers like, โ€œI want an awesome life experience,โ€ or โ€œI want a fresh perspective on the U.S.โ€ Those are great, and are included in my bulleted list of why I want to go to Segovia, Spain this spring. But I think the real reason I want to travel is because there is a deep longing present within me to be intensely inspired, and in turn, express. Thereโ€™s something about the adventure of immersion in a new culture that naturally seems to evoke this in me. I want to be in sensory overload, more in awe of God. As a writer, actress, visual artist, and singer, I want to plant myself amongst a different brand of humanity and see what happens. I can just imagine all the new material Iโ€™ll have to work with! I want to try new foods, explore and appreciate the country, have a hard time transitioning, grow to love the locals, let my fashion tastes be swayed. Meanwhile, I want to paint it. Whether with words or oil pastel, it doesnโ€™t matter. Thousands of students have gone on this very trip and written about it, but Iโ€™m itching to observe my own unique response. Which aspects of myself will emerge? What kinds of stories will unfold? Thatโ€™s all art is about, you know. Telling stories. Telling the truth, as you see it, about the world. I am excited to tell the stories of locals in Spain, the other students I will meet there, and my own experiences. I want to inspire myself, and inspire others along the way.ย  I want to create from a new perspective.

One thought on ““Why Do You Want to Study Abroad?”

Leave a Reply

