Tomorrow’s the Day

Hey!

On this lovely Thursday morning I’m thinking about how by this time tomorrow, I’ll be halfway to San Diego. How am I feeling? Well, I’m not sure yet… I’m going to process that here. YOU are welcome.

(Anyone who knows me at all knows that I’m an extreme verbal processor… here we go. After this post I’m going to embark on the journey of learning to write in a concise manner. Haha! I won’t have much time to write on project.)

So I’m beginning to truly contemplate what God has for me and the other students in San Diego. It’s clear that He wants me there, because the story of how I ended up even GOING on this project (let alone any ย other Summer Project) is complicated enough that it can only be a plan of God’s, and ย support has totally come in. I’m at 84%! Praise the Lord! This means I have enough to board that plane and probably only $300 more to go! ๐Ÿ™‚

So now that I’m not spending practically every waking hour working on support, it’s like WHEW… so now what is God gonna do?

1) It’s strange to me that both what I experienced last summer in Chicago and what I am about to experience in San Diego are both under the same title of “Summer Project,” because both have distinctly different “feels” so far. To be honest, part of me wants to mark down the value of San Diego in my mind because it’s shorter and I feel like nothing can compare to Chicago. But that would be ridiculous… I should be gearing up for something awesome, because God does amazing things when college students give large amounts of their time to serve Him in a different environment. If you don’t already know, last summer I went on the Chicago Summer Project, which is a 10-week stateside project (with 70 students!) where each student gets a job and learns how to share their faith on Chicago college campuses. And last summer is when I started to walk with the Lord for real. I re-dedicated my life to following Christ, and made some of the best friends I could ever hope for. I didn’t know what Summer Project really even was at the beginning of that summer, but now the experience of CSP is one that will continue to have a lasting impact on me for the rest of my life. God rocked my world through my experiences in Chicago.

Truth is, I have no clue how God is going to rock my world this summer. I just know He has a crazy plan. ย I really hope that it includes rocking some other students’ worlds… that’s what I’m going for, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

2) This is my first ever “international project.”

I know it’s in the states, and I don’t really understand it either, but this is considered an international project. International projects are shorter, and tend to be focused on one ethnic group since typically they are in another country. Except for that we will be working with Hispanic students, I’m not sure what to expect from an international-project-in-the-states. But the main difference will be that I won’t have a job this summer. Everything will be already paid for, even food, and I won’t have to worry about that part. While it was cool to learn about what ministry on the job looks like, I’m excited to dedicate my time 100% to helping build a Destino ministry on San Diego State’s campus. That means more in-depth relationships with SDSU students and my teammates! Super pumped! ๐Ÿ™‚

Besides that, I don’t even know what to expect. I’m sure you can already tell… I’m pretty clueless at this point!

3) I am a total city girl, so it will be nice to be living in one again! It’s funny how I tried to put myself way out of my comfort zone (East Asia) when first applying to ย another Summer Project, and although I felt that if I went I would have eventually gained a heart for the people and place, God was like, “Nope, you’re going to go serve the people group you already love, and live in the type of area you love! I’m gonna train you to share your faith with this culture and keep you serving city people!” And then I feel like He probably winks and adds, “hint, hint.” See… I am hopefully studying abroad in Spain next spring, and want to eventually live in a city full-time. Getting accepted to this project feels like a hint for the future, and confirmation that God has put desires in my heart for a reason. He wants to train me to do ministry with Hispanics and is continually helping me to even better relate to my city people, or at least that’s how it seems. What a blessing!!! God could place me anywhere, and I would learn how to serve there and with those people even if it wasn’t my first choice or my inclination. But God is taking me on a path that I not only like, but LOVE. I don’t deserve it in the least — God is soo faithful!

4) Another way that God has given me desires and then allowed me to use them is through the arts. I’m beginning to have the privilege to lead in ministry through the arts on my own campus, so I’m excited to see how God continues to use me that way. Last summer I served with the worship band. That was a much bigger project, and I don’t know if we’ll even have a “band” this year. So I really have no clue! But I know I naturally seek the arts and those people everywhere I go… so I’m just excited to see what God has!

Prayer requests:

-That God would be preparing my heart and the hearts of my teammates for whatever He has planned, and for growth and continued learning in our own Spiritual lives.

-For the chemistry and meshing of our team, that we would work together well.

-That God would be preparing the hearts of SDSU students who will hear the Gospel from us.

-And, well… jet lag. Haha. For all of us arriving tomorrow. I heard already from a staff member that it’s a kind of icky transition! Never been west so I wouldn’t know. Hopefully it won’t be too bad!

Thank you so much if you have been a supporter in any way, and keep the prayers comin’! We’ll need plenty as we pioneer this Destino movement!

Next time I post it will be shorter and I will be in San Diego!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Woot!

3 thoughts on “Tomorrow’s the Day

Leave a Reply

