God Will Provide for His Own

Hey guys! So this is where I am going to be keeping a blog during my time in San Diego and hopefully from there on out. We’ll see if I actually keep it up through school and all my other shenanigans…

But anyway, here’s my blurb for today.

I’m currently support raising for my trip and let me tell ya… there’s nothing that will test your faith like leaving the finances to God. I step on that plane 10 days and I need $2,500 before then. I still am at 25% of the $3,000 total I need for the trip. Firstly, that’s still a lot of money that people have given to support me! I’m so so grateful. But here, ten days out, I’m praying praying praying praying praying….

I’m really pumped about this trip. 2nd Summer Project. Team of some real cool people. Real cool city. Population group that I love. I felt really led towards this project, and when I realized I was actually going… I was ecstatic. I’ve gone on two mission trips to Mexico, my best friend in high school was Mexican and I loved hanging with her huge familia, I did some volunteer work with  inner-city kids camps a couple of years back and a lot of those kids spoke Spanish. My minor is now Spanish, and I think God has slipped the culture’s influence into my life just enough for me to have a real heart for them. So I know He wants me there, but when the funds just aren’t coming your brain starts firing questions. “Maybe God doesn’t want me there after all? Am I not doing this right? Is this impossible?”

But then BAM. Major truth randomly found in a book I’m reading called The Resolution for Women by Priscilla Shirer (which is totally unrelated to my predicament — isn’t God cool?).

The chapter was about our innate worth, and she referenced 1 Peter 2:9-10:

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

Look at all that truth declared by Peter. I mean it’s wonderful.

*I am part of a CHOSEN people. A royal priesthood. A holy nation. Meaning I was picked by GOD to be a  holy princess in His kingdom.

*I am God’s special possession! I am His and will be used for His glory. I have a huge purpose.

*Once I was nothing, but now I am part of the PEOPLE of God. And only because He extended mercy to me, which by the definition of mercy… I didn’t deserve.

Being reminded of all this showed me that I don’t have to worry. I mean I probably will a little anyway… but I don’t have to. God chose me to do His work here on earth, he loves me, and while it’s gonna be on His time and not mine, he will provide for his work to be done. Our work in San Diego is going to bring Him glory! And I’m pretty sure God likes to invest in that.

So that was how God encouraged me today in my waiting. I’m waiting and working and hoping and praying, but only time will tell if I’ll be fully supported or… well I don’t know what the other option is. All I know is, I trust my God.

For all the others who are support raising, I hope this truth is encouraging to you as it was to me. The Lord is faithful! Praise him!

Peace out until the next update. 🙂 If you are praying for me, thank you so much!! I really feel blessed by all the caring friends who want to be a part of my life. Love you all!

P.S. Wanna know more about the Hispanic population and why I’m going on my trip? Here’s a cool video.
Leave a Reply

